Posted in Lyrics, Nasyid Lyrics, Tulisan Dinhie

What Did I Do Today?

Akhir-akhir ini lagi suka denger lagu dari DWA (Dawud Wharnsby Ali) yang judulnya “What Did I Do Today”. Lagu ini bergenre acapela, tapi begitu enak didengar. Tak sekadar itu, liriknya pun menjadi bahan renungan bagi kita, sebagai bahan evaluasi harian apa saja yang sudah dilakukan. Hmm…

What Did I Do Today by DWA

taken from album Road To Madinah (1998)

Oh the moon has come, the day is done,
the night has covered up the sun,
I have stood so often before you to pray,
but I wonder Allah, tell me, what did I do today?
Did I remember the words of Al-Fatihah?
Did I take time to thank you for all that I have?
Did I call on you to guide my way?
Tell me what did I do today?

I have whispered to you as I made Ruku
Subhana Robbiyal ‘adzim.
But was my faith bright or grey?
Oh Allah, tell me, what did I do today?
Did I smile at my brother?
Was I kind to my Mother?
Did I teach another something that I know?
Or did my love of this world lead me astray?
Tell me what did I do today?

Sami’Allah hu liman hamidah
Rabbana Lakal Hamd.
Sami’Allah hu liman hamidah
Rabbana Lakal Hamd.

Laa ilaha illallah
Though I’ve bowed to you with my face in the dust,
Subhana rabbiyal a’la.

Did I turn to you ?

And did I obey?
Oh Allah, tell me, what did I do today?
Did I use my time?
Did I use my mind?
If I search my heart what will I find?
The light of your guidance is a glimmering ray,
Tell me, what did I do today?
Oh Allah, Tell me what did I do today?

Author:

A woman who loves everything about Korean culture, try her best to be a good mother & devoted wife.

2 thoughts on “What Did I Do Today?

Leave a Reply

